Research Databases

An invalid vocabulary is selected. Please change it in the options.
about:books about:books

Information about books and authors

Use this resource
African American Heritage African American Heritage

African American Heritage is a digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans. This database may be accessed at the library  or outside of the library using the information on your library card. 

Use this resource
Alt HealthWatch Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
American & English Literature American & English Literature

The American & English Literature Collections contain many works of poetry, drama, and prose from the 16th through 20th centuries. It includes the complete text of more than 200,000 poems, 2,000 plays, 100 works of prose, 11 major editions of Shakespeare’s works, and 21 editions of the Bible.This database can be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Ancestry Library Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition brings the world's most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. Updates are continually added. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
Biography Reference Bank Biography Reference Bank

Biography Reference Bank offers the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals. This database can be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Business Source Premier Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier offers information from business publications as well as tens of thousands of company profiles.  It contains news and journal articles on marketing, management, accounting and more. Also included are company profiles, industry and marketing reports and company financial data. This database can be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Chilton Library Chilton Library

Chilton Library provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. This resource is updated continually. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Computer Source Computer Source

Computer Source offers full text for nearly 300 publications covering the latest information and current trends in high technology including computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Consumer Health Complete Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. It contains full text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Early World of Learning Early World of Learning

Games, eBooks, stories, videos, songs, and other digital media that develop language and literacy skills. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: PreK, K, 1st, 2nd and 3rd. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Explora Public Libraries Explora Public Libraries

Explora Public Libraries provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books, grouped into easy-to-browse categories. Explora provides research collections on thousands of topics to help them find the information they need quickly and easily. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Fold3 Fold3 by Ancestry

Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including stories, photos, and documents of the men and women who served. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Health Source: Consumer Edition Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition offers a rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Heritage Quest Heritage Quest

Heritage Quest is an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s. The collection can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past, while also providing a comprehensive treasury of genealogical sources rich in unique records, local and family histories, and finding-aids. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Hobbies and Crafts Hobbies and Craft

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Home Improvement Reference Center Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Kids InfoBits Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today's young learners. This site contains age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Literary Reference Center Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center provides you with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across time and literary discipline. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

 

Use this resource
Lynda.com Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a massive collection of more than 12,000 online video courses designed for any skill level. Examples include, but are not limited to: web development, EXCEL, bookkeeping, running a small business, accounting, and animation. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
MAS Ultra - School Edition MAS Ultra - School Edition

MAS Ultra-School Edition offers full text of popular magazines for high school students, biographical articles, primary source documents, eBooks (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an image collection. Lexile reading levels included. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
MAS Ultra - School Edition

MAS Ultra-School Edition offers full text of popular magazines for high school students, biographical articles, primary source documents, eBooks (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an image collection. Lexile reading levels included. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
MasterFILE Premier MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier offers full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more. Also contains reference books, primary source documents, and an image collection. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th. This database may be accessed in the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Middle Search Plus Middle Search Plus

Middle Seach Plus offers full text of popular magazines for middle school students, biographical articles, historical essays, primary source documents, and an image collection. Lexile reading levels included. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 6th, 7th, and 8th. This database may be accesssed at the library or outside the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers full text television and radio news transcripts from organizations including CBS News, CNN, FOX News and NPR. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Oxford Research Encyclopedias Oxford Research Encyclopedias

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This databse may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Points of View Reference Center Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center offers multiple perspectives on current issues presented in overview essays and journal articles. Lexile reading levels included. Points of View Reference Center is updated twice a day. This resource is suitable for students in the following grades: 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Professional Development  Collection Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. This database may be accessed at the library or outside the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. This database is mainly for professionals and adults and has particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Religion & Philosophy Collection Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies, providing a full-text source of content pertaining to the topics related to and discussed in disciplines of religion and philosophy. This resource is suitable for adults and students in 9th, 10th, 11th and 12 grades. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

The Sanborn Maps were originally created for assessing fire insurance liability in urbanized areas in the United States. Our collection includes over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962. Each map includes detailed information regarding town and building information. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Science Reference Center Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text, science- oriented content appropriate for middle and high school students. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and other reliable sources. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Small Business Center Small Business Reference Center

This site offers full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. You can find a collection of state-specific resources, such as demographic data, licenses and permits, and more that are important to the start and development of businesses. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Transparent Language Transparent Language

Learn to speak a new language. Over 100 foreign language courses are available. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Very Short Introductions Very Short Introductions

Very Short Introductions provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. In this digital resource, hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to con sider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. This database may be accessed at the library or outside the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
Vocational and Career Collection Vocational and Career Collection

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This database may be accessed  at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
What Tree Is It? What Tree Is It?

Offers a step-by-step to easily identify a tree by leaf, fruit and/or name. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
What's That Snake? What's That Snake?

Assists in identifying a snake by markings, color and/or size. This database includes 30 species and subspecies of snakes found in Ohio. This database may be accessed at the library or outside the library using the information on your library card.
 

Use this resource
What's The Point? What's The Point?

What's The Point helps identify flint artifacts from Ohio's prehistoric peoples. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
World Book Kids World Book Kids

Contains thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps which enrich thousands of articles. This resource is suitable for the following grades: K, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th. This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
World Book Online World Book Online

Information resources for pre-school through college! This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource
World Book Students World Book Students

Contains an extensive multimedia collection, including editor-selected websites, and correlations to state standards. This resource is suitable for the students in the following grades: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th. T This database may be accessed at the library or outside of the library using the information on your library card.

Use this resource